why w3c recommends different Doc-types .. ? Instead they could have recommended only one Doc-type (say loose type.. as it would prone to less number of SILLY errors) and would have standardized it to all browsers (including the ones in mob and PDAs) ..

I haven't got any satisfying answer in any tutorial yet .. I have been reading "how these different Doc-types differ in"
but I want to know do we really need it ???

2 answers

This was chosen as the best answer

Historically, the doctypes were as follows:

  • Strict, for pages using only the latest features, no deprecated tags, etc.
  • Transitional, for web pages transitioning from an earlier version of HTML (e.g. from HTML 3 to 4, or HTML to XHTML)
  • Frameset, for pages using frames.

HTML5 gets rid of all these in favour of one standard:

<!DOCTYPE html>

It's completely backwards compatible and puts browsers into "Standards" mode so I'd recommend you use it :)

Answered about 9 years ago by Olly Hodgson

I have switched to using the HTML 5 . As stated above, it is backward compatible.

Answered over 8 years ago by Matt Ewing